Battery starting issue. Please help???

bfan781

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Ok guys, go easy on me. I am new to the boating world. 2nd year with boat.

I am trying to get the boat ready. center console with outboard. 115hp mariner

When I put it away last year I winterized it and took the battery back to my house. I slowed charged it the last few days. Problem is now I forget how the battery went back in.

I have four wires. to thicker gauge which go back to the engine. Then two smaller ones that I assume go to the key. Of course I do the two red ones (one thick one smaller to the + positive and the two black ones to the negative.

It doesn't start. When I turn the key it doesn't even try to start, then will try a little then stop. I think its the battery not fully charged, so I try to jump it with my truck and still doing same thing.

Now I noticed that the black (-) terminal is smoking slightly and the two thicker cables are hot to the touch. which I am assuming should not be the case.

So I am wondering if they could possibly b reversed? The thicker one with the red crimp even has a sticker saying to connect to (+) post. I didn't want to try it because I didn't want to damage engine/battery without checking first.

Now I also must say that on the larger post not the one where the cables get screwed onto, that the red cap was on the negative post. That could mean to connect the positive to the neg or someone just accidentally stuck it to the wrong post.

So if they are reversed would it not turnover and then try for a second or two? What should I do. I do not think its the battery and it worked perfectly last year. What about the cables getting hot?
Is it true that the wires can get hot from continuously trying to turn it over?

Even if it was a bad battery wouldn't it at least crank over connected up to my truck?