Over heat issue 105 HP 1974 chrysler

brappley

Seaman Apprentice
Hello Guys

Need a little help, my 105 hp motor over heated a week or so ago, found out the pump was defective, housing pitted and replaced both the housing and the impeller, took it to the lake , tested it in the water still on the trailer and it worked just fine till i put it in gear and hit about 2800 rpm, pump stoped pumping again anf got hot , backed off the throttle and started pumping again, now im new to boat motors so are you not supose to run like that in the water on the trailer to test, the reason i did it that way is didnt want to get stranded out on the river, figured id trailer test it first. Any ideas. OH and i also replaced the check valve/relief valve for the pump on the side of the motor/ exaust manifold.

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner
Re: Over heat issue 105 HP 1974 chrysler

High RPM , especially in gear, in a barrel will roil the water. You may have been sucking in exhaust gases through the pump, thus not delivering much water to the engine. Best to use Muffs or try it at the river.

brappley

Seaman Apprentice

It was at the lake In 2 1/2 foot of water, I'll try the river before I do anything else .

Nordin

Commander

I think that engine has a bypass relifevalve. If you have problem with that you can loose water at high speed.

brappley

Seaman Apprentice

I allready replaced the check valve/ relief valve, it was weak, retested it at the lake sitting on the trailer and did the same thing.

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner

When you had the water pump off, did you reach down, pull up the plastic screen and clean it?

I know it is almost impossible to do wrong, but did you place the stainless plate on correctly? Are you certain that the drive key is still in position? It is possible to pop them out of the slot when installing the impeller.

Did you use the gasket below the stainless plate? Did the new pump come with a top seal? If not, did you install one?