Lots of water over the bow this afternoon/pitch poled!!

shadetreetx

Cadet
24' 1990 Grumman w/70 Yamaha. 3' deck forward of the seats. Totally original boat.
3rd trip.
Went out today with 8 adults and 2 kids. We were running with (down wind) the waves on Lake Conroe, maybe1'-1.5' waves and 4 adults up front with 4 & the kids aft.
Weight distribution was fine and 2500 rpm, maybe 10 mph.
All of a sudden the boat virtually stopped and a huge amount of water ran from bow to stern.
Everyone ran aft and we wound up with 3 to 4" of water on the aft 1/3 of the deck.
It slowly drained off and we kept going.
I have been boating for 35 years and have only had this happen on a Hobie cat.
What I think happened is we "surfed" over a wave and then stuffed it in the second.
Has anyone experienced anything like this before on a pontoon?
Any suggested design changes to stop this from happening in the future?
It definitely got my attention.
Thanks

Mi duckdown

Commander
Re: Lots of water over the bow this afternoon/pitch poled!!

Too many adults Aft? Rogue wave?

5150abf

Vice Admiral

I did that on a brand new pontoon once, it happens and the good thing is you aren't going to sink a toon, the water just runs off the boat and you are fine where a regular boat you are full of water now, I did myself though showing how well the boat turned, I spun around and chopped the throttle leaving me right in front of the huge wake I just made but as you said it just rolled down the deck, no harm no foul.

It is a little freaky to see water rolling down the deck though, I think you are right with the cause, I was out in my fishing boat a few weeks ago in big wind and waves and got that same thing, rode over this wave just to dump me in the trough of the next one, it is part of boating and may take another 36 years to happen again.

lncoop

Vice Admiral