Fenders and Dock line

alpito

Recruit
Is it customary to combine your dock line with the fenders, attached at boat cleat?

I have an 18 foot Lund fishing boat, and am new to boating. I have two cleats on each side of the boat. I took the loop of the dock line, passed it through the fender hole to a point af about 12-15 inches. I tied a bowline just below the loop, and then attached the loop to the cleat So now I have the fender hanging about a foot below the gunnel/cleat. The remainder of the dock line is used to attach to the cleat on the dock, or use in whatever manner one would use the dock line.

I am new to boating and want to learn the correct way to do things. Is it more correct to just have individual lines for each fender, and then separate dock lines, or is there a similarly acceptable way to to combine a line for the fender and dock line.

Thanks for the insight.

blifsey

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: Fenders and Dock line

I've always kept them separate but often attach both to same cleat. Seems you would want the fender to always hang in place right below cleat but the dock might be pulled different directions and amount of tightness based on dock setup. I've also come across some docks with very nice bumpers where I did not need to use fenders. For my fenders, I use about 1/4" or 3/8" line while dock lines are 1/2".

alpito

Recruit

Thanks. My lines are 3/8. So I guess I'll need to get some half inch dock lines.

Home Cookin'

Fleet Admiral

of course there is no one answer, it depends on your mooring conditions and covenience. If your boat has a built-in rub rail, fenders may not be necessary at all.

However, I like to have lines that are larger (in diameter) than is necessary b/c they are easier on my hands--especially the anchor. For mooring lines, if you aren't pulling against wind/current, that isn't as important.

Also consider how much cabin space you want to take up with fenders; a throw-cushion works in a pinch.

emilsr