1968 Mercury 100 hp Inline 6 Trim not working

Jmone31116

Cadet
Hello All,

I am very new to trim/tilt. When I push my trim up or down (double sided middle button) nothing happens but when I push the Up (Very top all red) button I only get a "click" ? No movement nothing else. I've tried holding each button in a variate of orders but still nothing. I've also turned the black round knob in the pictures all the way to the left and all the way to the right and still only getting a click.

I've searched the forums and although there are similar issues none have said they only get a click so Any help would be great.

Thanks in advance, you guys and gals are great.

Boat is a 68' Larson volaro 177
Motor: 68 Mercury 100 hp S/N: 2413361

Pic's below

boat trim pics 006.jpgboat trim pics 008.jpgboat trim pics 010.jpgboat trim pics 005.jpgboat trim pics 009.jpg

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1968 Mercury 100 hp Inline 6 Trim not working

OK, looks to be a std Merc PTT unit used up until the late 70s. The wiring looks a bit suspect, expecially the twisted bare wire and the switch under the PTT control panel.

Put the tilt pin in the lowest hole after you get the PTT unit working. That is where it should be. That is a one solenoid model right?

get a set of jumper cables. Connect the resevoir housing to the negative side of the battery with a jumper cable. Disconnect the PTT wiring harness to isolate the PTT unit. Now touch the positive jumper cable to the solenoid cable that runs to the PTT motor. The motor should spin and the motor will tilt up. If no spin, it is likely the motor is bad. Now touch the pos jumper cable to the green wire that runs to the motor. You should hear the PTT motor spin the the motor should trim down.

Post back the results... if the motor does trim up and down using this method, the problem is in the wiring harness, switches solenoid or some combination. Those are all cheep to fix.

Jmone31116

Cadet