can the avaerage fish and ski boats go saltwater?

latemp

Cadet
i'm new to saltwater boating, so i'm not sure of whats the big difference between saltwater and freshwater boats. from what i understand you want a hull that can withstand rougher water and fiberglass instead of carpeting. i'm looking for a fish and ski type boat. if possible i want one that can go in fresh or saltwater. i figure i will spend most time in the bay tho. can something like a sea ray 195fx go saltwater?

blifsey

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: can the avaerage fish and ski boats go saltwater?

Have you looked at bay boats?

Home Cookin'

Fleet Admiral

go to the website for Sea Hunt and look at the variety of boat styles they have, as examples. All are good for salt water, some for calm inshore and some for bigger water.
You mention "the bay." Don't know which one. But don't assume a "bay boat" is a good design for any "bay" any more than a "lake boat" is fine in the middle of Lake Erie in a storm. They are better for protected water. Likewise, a hull made for rough water is a consideration based on the body of water, not its flavor.
IMO all boats should be made for salt water boating, that is, its fittings, engines and electrical parts able to withstand exposure to salt water and salt air. Most are. Any one that is not made that way is substandard regardless of where you plan to use it, and is not a smart buy.
As for carpet v. hard deck, that isn't a salt water question either. Carpeting is highly impractical in a boat. If you are a boater willing to restrict your use, and want to spend time effort and money keeping it covered when not in use, fine. All the boaters I know would say it's not worth it. The convenience of a low maintenance boat means more time using it, and no worries about how you use it, and a hard deck does not adversely impact "pleasure boating" or family use at all; it improves it if anything.