2008 Glastron GT185 Questions...

yamahas

Cadet
Hey everyone.

I got a few questions. I am fairly new to the boating world. I am used to working on snowmobiles and have been trying to use some of those skills to fix a few things on the boat. If anyone knows where I can find a service manual or part diagrams for the boat that would go a long way for me.

So here is the problem. No matter how warm it is when I go to take off it seems to stumble. Sounds like a fuel problem. RPM's will go up then the boat will sound like it stalled (Sometimes it does) then it will catch itself again and be good to go until I come to a stop and take off again. It will also have a hard time starting and does not like to idle on its own. Idles fine if I put it in neutral and move the throttle until I get to the first "click".

I feel like it could be idling too low? How to I adjust the idle/what should it idle at?

I don't even know where the carburetor is in this boat to try cleaning it. Its the 3.0L Merc.

With snowmobiles if I experience these problems changing the spark plugs will fix it 99% of the time. Is it the same with boats?

Thanks for any help!

ThreeMileBayWaker

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 2008 Glastron GT185 Questions...

Could be a few different things...

number 1) Bad fuel... the stupid ethanol they are putting in fuel these days is reaping havoc on our marine engines and seals. There are multiple law suits and what not going after the government about this and even more so trying to stop them from upping it from 10% --> 15%. Have you owned the boat since new and did you store it with fuel stabilizer in the tank? Also with every fill up to battle the stupid ethanol they are putting in the fuel, adding the fuel stabilizer seems to be cutting back on these fuel problems.

2) According to my 10' manual spark plugs shouldn't need to be changed till 2 years or 150 hours. Just like any tune up, fresh plugs will help but if your running bad fuel they will become fowled again.