88 spl throttle problem

Slyder760

Cadet
Hello everyone I am new to this but I need HELP! I have an 1989 88spl that is bogging after half throttle. I have rebuilt the carbs and fuel pump and it has gotten better but still will not go past half throttle. Any time you go past half throttle the motor sounds as if it will take the gas then it dont and it does this continously but never speeds up or smooths out until you come back below half throttle. I have this on a 1984 stratos 355v and believe it should run way faster than 23 mph. I have over 10 years rebuilding car carbs and motors so maybe that will help me through this. Please Help!!!!

Slyder760

Cadet
Re: 88 spl throttle problem

Forgot to mention also checked the compression top two cylinders had 110 lbs and bottom 2 only had 102 and 105 is this to low for this engine?

DargelJohn

Petty Officer 1st Class

Your compression number are on the low side. Maybe try the decarb process under the "Secret Files".

I would look closely at the throttle linkage. Make sure the carb butterflies are fully opening, spark advance arm is moving freely, no problems with broken or loose parts...

crappie14

Seaman Apprentice

Don't know that I have anything to offer other than relating a personal experience on a 75 HP Mariner 3 cyclinder. It would take spells of basically not wanting to take fuel other than running at a fast idle. Start and run fine, give it the throttle and it would not take fuel and go. Back the throttle off, run fine a 3-5 mph. It started when you would first launch and on occasion it would run perfect, then it would start again. I rebuild carbs, checked filters, bulbs, hose, etc but what fixed the problem was replacing the power pack. When you find your problem, post the resolution. I really doubt your compression numbers are causing your issues.

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner

The compression is fine.