Evinrude150V4

My wife purchased a 1985 bass boat w a Evinrude V4(over100hp not exactly sure of hp) that has the VRO which has been disabled and ran w 50:1 mixture as specified in owners manual. There is old fuel in the tank from last year(plan on draining tank), and I am told the plugs need changed. I have not even picked the boat up yet. Is it better to leave the VRO disabled or replace the VRO unit? I would think the steady 50:1 mix would foul the plugs, shortening the plug life. I am not familiar w the VRO or blocking off the self oiler, other than from what I read it is a common procedure when the VRO quits pumping oil. Wouldn't this set off an "oil" alarm on the engine? I am a newbie to this nice of a boat and dont want to make costly mistakes that could be easily avoided by a little advice.

Last edited:

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner
Re: Evinrude150V4

Pertaining to the one year old gasoline. There is good gasoline and then there's bad gasoline. Bad gasoline is "Stale" gasoline and there is no mistaking gasoline that is stale. No one needs to be taught the smell of stale gasoline, it is perhaps just one of the senses that we are born with..... a smell so offensive that drunken skunks have been known to head for the hills when encountering it.

Now, with that said, smell that gas. If it isn't stale, I'd suggest you use it especially with the exorbitant outrageous price of gasoline that is now being forced upon all of us by organized crime (need I explain that?).

New boat (to you)... Check the compression, with plugs removed check the spark, check the lower unit for water. The 50/1 mixture will not foul the spark plugs... use Champion QL77JC4 plugs gapped at either .030 or .040. One gap or the other may provide improved performance.