1954 Johnson QD 15 Wont Start after running

schap7

Cadet
Hi i have a 1954 johnson QD 15 had it out on the lake already 4 times this season. Every time it has ran absolutely beautifully. Last week i went out got on the water motor briefly started (5-7 secs) then shut off and havent been able to get it going since. the day this happened the motor was in laying on it side in the boat on trailer and we got hit with a bad rain storm . Dont know if maybe something got wet that shouldnt have. Any one have any ideas i have no knowledge when it comes to boat motors this is my first boat. by the way i cleaned out the carb to check for water no water fuel in glass bulb is very clean

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1954 Johnson QD 15 Wont Start after running

Did you start with the basics? Is she sparking?

F_R

Supreme Mariner

Classic symptoms of bad coils.

kfa4303

Banned

yup. I agree with F_R. Try pulling off the flywheel and taking a look at the coils. They're probably cracked/ruined, which is perfectly normal on these old gems. Not to worry. The modern replacement coils are readily available and much, much more realiable. You may as well replace the ppoints and coils while you're at it. There are lots of posts here that can walk you through replacing all the consumables. Well worth the effort though. These old 10hp are great motors. Good luck.

schap7

Cadet

Thank you for quick response everyone. Yes I do have spark just checked that today. Do you still think bad coils? A friend said bad gas but I'm just not sure

kfa4303

Banned