1957 Johnson RD-19 Siezed Lower Unit

brode

Recruit
Hi,
I am new to the vintage restoration of OMC's but so far I am enjoying what I am doing. I have 2 RD-19 motors. One with electric start and one without. Of course I got the one without the electric start running great, but the electric start motor is giving me headaches. First problem is I have no spark so I am replacing the coils, points and condensors. Once that is done I expect for the thing to start up with maybe a carb cleaning or not.
The problem is the motor was sitting for the past several years with water in the lower unit. The lower unit is siezed. I pulled the unit out and the transmission gears still look like they are in great shape and spin freely, but the bushings and bearing for the drive shaft are rusty and stuck in the lower unit. I was wondering if anyone has any good advice on how to loosen these things up so I can get them out and replace them, or is it a lost cause and scrap the lower unit and but a new one.
If I go the second route and buy a used lower unit what other models will fit onto my powerhead?
Thanks,
Brode

highcountry

Seaman
Re: 1957 Johnson RD-19 Siezed Lower Unit

I would say make a mix of 50/50 acetone and atf brush it on the parts and keep doing so for a week. Air blow off the dirty stuff and apply new each day, then tap and try to turn the shaft a little at a time. Patience is the key.

1946Zephyr

Vice Admiral

If the motor without electric start runs great, then I would just transfer the starter and stuff over to it and either fix up the other one at your leisure or use it for parts.