Water Tube in a 150 XR 2

Sorry this really has me frustrated. I have replaced the water pump in lieu of the engine sitting so long. When installing the lower unit by myself I had a extremly hard time getting it to seat, I then used a floor jack to hold the scag and slowly lift the lower unit into place. "mistake". After still having no water, I removed the lower unit again and found the water tube bent (copper tube), I looked up through the opening where the tube goes in and it looks scared. My question is what does the tube go into at the top and does it have a sleeve or metal bushing it goes into, can't find anything in the manual... Please Help, I have made several other repairs to this boat with fuel, electrical, now no water and not sure if the oil injection is working.

1nebel0

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Water Tube in a 150 XR 2

Your not going to like the answer. I am no Merc merchanic by trade however I do all my own work on my 6 different high performace motoros...The power head has to come off, and the tube is held in place with a screw...Maybe the guys that do this everyday have a trick(i would like to know) on not having to pull the power head...it isn't a big deal but just some time, a cherry picker and the ring that goes into the power head for lifting it...Good Luck....

j_martin

Admiral

Practice using the right tools. If you try to pick the power head with a chain and bolts, the water tube problem will seem small. Use the proper engine lifting eye.

Here's where you get the speech about the factory service manual. The installation procedure is in the book. There should have been a loose plastic tube stuck in the top of the water pump to guide the water tube to the seal. It can be done without it, but it's tricky.

Practice using the right tools. If you try to pick the power head with a chain and bolts, the water tube problem will seem small. Use the proper engine lifting eye.