One Battery or 2 Battery

Strait

Cadet
Ok here it goes

I am a newbie to this and first time owner of a boat, i have a 14ft grew boat and i am tranforming it into a fishing boat, also i am running a 40HP Johnson motor on it.

Want i want to know what will be best for me to run 2 batteries or just one , i will be running beside the motor, A trolling motor , bilge pump and a little stereo with few lights inside the boat . What i want to know if i need 2 batteries or just one and also how do i connect all the stuff any diagram or anything would be of a big help cause the season is almost here. I tought using seperate batteries one just for my johnson and the other ofr all accessories. and also i can see in most of the threads on this board people are saying Glass , i know what fiberglass is but glass ??

capslock118

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: One Batteryor 2 Battery

i will be running beside the motor, A trolling motor , bilge pump and a little stereo with few lights inside the boat .

I'll provide you a spreadsheet that I built for myself; it might help you out. You can find it here: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1459110/marine_battery_consumption.xls . Basically input the battery you want, input the list of devices and their amp rating and how many hours you plan to use them. It will tell you how long you have until the battery gets to 25% discharged, 50% discharged etc; assmuming my math was right.

That spreadsheet should help you come to your own conclusions about what you need. I don't know how much power a marine motor consumes so I cannot comment on if you need two batteries.

However, my west marine battery with 800 CCA, 1000 MCA, and 190 reserve minuites is super duper overkill for my boat; a 19' bow rider with a 135hp engine with a bilge running every few minuites 24 hours a day and seldom use of a depth/fish finder.

and also i can see in most of the threads on this board people are saying Glass , i know what fiberglass is but glass ??