VP 4.3GXi-a: Water in oil, water in cylinder(s)

kismet

Recruit
Hi everyone,

Though i'm new here, i've been using the iboats forums as references for many years. I used to have a '98 Campion Allante 525 Sport with 3.0L mercruiser and I successfully navigated through many years with that boat with the help previously posted topics on this board (thanks google!). That boat has now been passed on, and I have another Campion now that's slightly larger with a larger engine to follow. It does have a few issues to be sorted out, and even if the engine is garbage i'm still pleased with the trade. I'll try to provide as much background as possible. Now on to the issues.

Recently I picked up a 2003 Campion Allante 545i Super Sport on trade that still looks gorgeous, with 155 hours on the boat. It has the throttle body injected Volvo Penta 4.3GXi-a engine with SX outdrive. The previous owner had bought the boat from an auction knowing it had a cracked engine block from lack of winterization. He pulled the engine and replaced the block and risers, using the original cylinder heads, intake manifold and (I THINK) exhaust manifolds. The water pump (crank pulley mounted) has also been reused, however it leaks.