At the gelcoat stage - help needed!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

morebass 17

Petty Officer 1st Class
I have been restoring a boat now for nearly two years now (almost all of this on sanding - my arms are falling off) , however I am eventually at the gelcoat stage ( the entire hull is going to be re-gelcoated ) This will be my first time using gelcoat although I have done a fair amount of fibreglass and resin work. I am going to be applying the gelcoat by roller & brush as i do not have spray equipment. has anyone else gelcoated an entire hull or even a large area in this way, I would be really gratefull for any tips and advise on this matter. any advise from prep work to getting a good finish will be greatly appreciated.

morebass 17

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: At the gelcoat stage - help needed!!!

I forgot to add my current plan of action (subject to change)
I have spent months on filling and fairing so to my untrained eyes I think its ready. It has been preped to a 120 grit. which my resin supplier said would be fine.
I am also applying an initial coat of gelcoat (unwaxed) by squeegy, ( this is a method referred to in oop's massive hull extension thread ) it should eliminate any minor low spots in the hull before i apply the first coat of gel. This sound like a good idea so this will be getting done tomorow. this is how I plan on doing this critical part of the resto.

1. clean entire hull thoroughly with acetone.
2. apply gelcoat by squeegy initially.
3. apply 1st coat of gel (unwaxed) by roller and brush.
4. once cured sand entire area with 120 grit to get rid of roller/brush marks.
5. clean hull again and apply 2nd coat in the same way, and sand hull again.
6. clean and apply a 3rd coat but this time waxed gelcoat (flowcoat)
7. once cured sand again, clean again and then apply the 4th and final coat.
8. once cured start sanding with 400 grit and work my way up to 1200 grit.
9. use a buffing compound to bring out the shine.