Troling Motor and fishing

Kuna Matata

Seaman Apprentice
Do I need a troling motor or can I keep my bayliner at idel and trol that way... I am new to the fishing with a boat... I know it sounds stupid also how deep would you want your bait from the water? I was thinking about 10 ft or so and about 20 ft lead from the boat. Please help I have no idea what the hell I am doing....:eek:

wifisher

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Troling Motor and fishing

As far as the motor, there are a lot of people who troll with the big motor, if you can't go slow enough, use a drift sock or just drop a bucket behind the boat to slow down. Depth, distance from boat etc can be many many different things. All depends on what species you are after. It may be worth hiring a guide for a day to gain some experience. Different species need different depths and speeds. Also dependent on water condition, or season. There is a lot to learn if you want to be effective.

dingbat

Supreme Mariner

Plain and simple, you need to put the bait where the fish can see it. A fish finder is your best friends while trolling.

A fishes? eyes are on top of their heads. They can look up but they can?t look down. You want to put the bait in their face or slightly above their heads. It does you no good to troll your baits 20' down when the fish are at 10'. My short deep rods are back 65? and my long lines over 300?. Depth range from just a couple of feet below the surface to 35-40? depending on conditions

heyyou325

Chief Petty Officer