asking to much from my boat?

DJ87

Seaman
im new to boating and have a question about speed versus torque? I have a 1987 bayliner capri. its a 20 foot closed nose with small cabin. It seats 6 and has a 20 gallon gas tank. it has a force 125 2 stroke outboard engine with a 13 inch diameter prop set on a 16 degree pitch. At wide open im taching 5,100 rpm and traveling 25 mph with a full tank and 1 passenger. When i take people out to ski im able to pull a knee board, double skies, 2 person tube but anyone on a single ski is very tough. you have to stay down longer so long then its a fight to get up. iboats offers 2 other props for my boat, 17 and 19 degree pitch. im wondering if i go up in pitch what do i gain? more speed or more torque to pull out skiers?

DJ87

Seaman
Re: asking to much from my boat?

oh also the prop is not stainless steel

Bondo

Staff member

Ayuh,... Props are meassured in Inches, not Degrees...

A 19" prop will Pull Harder than your 21" prop...

75TowerOfPower

Petty Officer 1st Class

You will gain speed when going up in Pitch but will lsoe some torque, you can add another blade to save some of the torque.

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

Forces are usually a little weak when compared to other brands of the same horsepower, but even so, I would think you'd be able to do better than 25MPH with that setup. I'm thinking 30 minimum should be attainable. I hope your boat isn't lugging around a bunch of soaked flotation foam.

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner

You are asking a lot from your combo to pull out a slalom skier with more than a spotter in the boat.

Going up in pitch will only make matters worse. It will reduce the acceleration and pull needed to pop the skier up.

You are at the middle of the full throttle range for that engine so an increase in pitch will drop RPM by another 400 for a 17 pitch and 800 for a 19 pitch. Both will reduce performance. Unless it is an aftermarket prop, the "16" degree you have on now is really 15 pitch.