58 Dorsett - floor install

Naps

Cadet
New to forums....actually been lurking around for a couple weeks now. :cool:

I do know how much everyone loves pictures, but the only ones I have are on my phone at this time and I haven't emailed them to myself yet so they're not on the computer. I have a couple of questions, I have read of "vacuuming fiberglass" - not sure if that's actually the term - but I was wondering if there is anyone that can give feedback on using chopped guns.....

Here's what I think I know about it - Chopped guns do poly.... which is not as strong as Epoxy (yeah that's about it).

It would be easier for me to have some local guys blast some chop ($150.00) in over my stringer, or should I (attempt to) poxy them in myself?

Tolyn

Seaman
Re: 58 Dorsett - floor install

Greetings and welcome to iboats!

I have no experience at all with the "chop gun" approach other than what I've read in the last few minutes regarding them. To answer your question directly, I'd say yes it would certainly be easier to pay some guy to spray some fiberglass over your stringers.

The better approach, in my humble opinion, would be to do the work yourself so that you can use quality materials and know the job is done right. I would be careful with the budget "pay somebody else to get it done quickly" job on a major structural component of your boat.

I'm sure somebody else who knows more about chop guns will chime in before too long.

Respectfully,
-T

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner

Watch this, It shows how they Blow Glass.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dEhSaFfaSKg&playnext=1&list=PLFC9798EF4E693736