Tilt\trim OMC 3 liter i\o PLEASE HELP!

I have a omc sterndrive i\o 3 liter and my tilt\trimn isn't working properly. I have to tap the casing on the bottom of the enginge everytime i want to raise or lower the engine. Do i ned to clean the terminals? is seems to work fine after taping... should i open the casing and investigate?

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Tilt\trim OMC 3 liter i\o PLEASE HELP!

What kind of drive? What year?

Howard Sterndrive

Rear Admiral

tilt or trim?
they're two entirely different electric motors on a 1985 OMC.

tilt or trim?
they're two entirely different electric motors on a 1985 OMC.

The tilt i think, the one that controls up and down controls for the motor. I'm kinda new to boat ownership. I know alot about engines so ive already fixed the fuel pump and carburater. I just don't know much about this raising and lowering problem. I have to tap the box on the bottom of the engine everytime i wanna move it. Thank for your replies Don!

Bondo

Staff member

The tilt i think, the one that controls up and down controls for the motor.

Ayuh,... Tilt raises only the outdrive,... Never run it Tilted...

Trim raises, 'n lowers the front of the motor....

Ayuh,... Tilt raises only the outdrive,... Never run it Tilted...

Trim raises, 'n lowers the front of the motor....

ok its the tilt, thanks! i know it raises and lowers fine, but i have to tap it everytime. . im not running it in anything but the fully lowered postion

Howard Sterndrive

Rear Admiral

follow the wires back from the motor (1 green and 1 blue-heavy 12 ga. wire ) remove the leads from the 2 relays, and file both sides shiny, then - most important- file the terminal side of each nut shiny.

then, remove the 50A barrel fuses and clean the corrosion off them with some steel wool
continue cleaning all wiring right back to the battery

then grease the trunnion bearings where the outdrive pivots - pull the rubber steering bumpers off to reveal the grease fittings