What type of wake will...

MAXXIE

Chief Petty Officer
I just realized that there were a lot of posts to my last question Re: 85 HP enough. What I'm wondering now is what type of wake & will it be good enough for fun, beginner wake boarding? I'm referring to my boat, a 1985 1700 Bayliner bowrider, It's off season now & I'm thinking about the wake I was giving off last year. Granted the boy's biggest challenge will be just getting up & staying up, but I think he'll take to it very quickly. What are you thought's as "Wake Boarders" on my older boat & motor package? BTW: Don't know if it will make that much of a difference, but I currently have a hydro-foil "large" finn on the lower unit of the out board & was thinking of Trim Tab's instead. What will be better? Tanx, MAXX

bakerderek0

Cadet
Re: What type of wake will...

last year was my first season pulling wakeboarders & wakeboarding myself. I have a 1994 Baja 170 with 125 merc OB. Being a beginner, I thought my wake was just fine and very intimidating. I fell quite a few times when trying to ride up the wake. We were pulling from the ski hooks, but this year I'm putting a tower on.

As far as the whale tail, I couldn't tell you. I've been told to stay away from them

Have fun :D

bigpoppakdog

Chief Petty Officer

Well looking at some picts of your boat style, you should have fun. Typical style boat that will create a wake, but if you look at those videos on the internet where they are doing some high flying $#@!, I don't believe your boat will create that type of wake. Your boat looks similar to mine. Will it make a wake big enough to get air? Sure, no doubt. Just not big enough to shoot you in the air like you see in the vids. Then again, there is no chance for me to do those tricks at my age :(

2ndtry

Petty Officer 1st Class