to rebuild or not to rebuild?

dougcfields

Cadet
Let me start by saying I am new to boating and this site and I?m not sure what I have gotten myself into. I recently purchased this 21 ft Caribbean by Hardin Marine. That?s what the boat says anyways. I have spent days searching and cant find anything on this boat and the companies history is a bit confusing. But anyways I am just wondering if this boat is worth rebuilding. The floor is rotted and needs to be replaced I have already started replacing it. The OMC 800 series stern drive has a cracked upper gear case housing (going to see if it can be welded). I also can?t seem to identify which out drive system I have. Model #987241, Serial #J-0021 It also needs a new tilt motor and fuel pump. The guy i bought this boat from said the chevy 350 and outdrive were recently replaced even though the drive is broken. Thanks in advance for any help and advise.

Attachments

• downsize-1.jpg
    downsize-1.jpg
    78.4 KB · Views: 0
  • PART_1283734602670.jpg
    PART_1283734602670.jpg
    10.7 KB · Views: 0
  • downsize-8.jpg
    downsize-8.jpg
    140 KB · Views: 0
  • downsize.jpg
    downsize.jpg
    116.5 KB · Views: 0
  • downsize.jpg
    downsize.jpg
    112.2 KB · Views: 0

drewpster

Commander
Re: to rebuild or not to rebuild?

In my opinion trying to save the drive is going to be a lost cause. I think you would be better off to find another old boat with the same/ similar drive setup and swap it out. Attempting to repair a major failure to a cast case like that one is generally not do-able. Otherwise it looks as though you are off and running. If the engine is good then I would try for another outdrive. If the engine is also toast, then a repower is in order. Generally engines and drives are 50% of the investment in these old boats, however there are resources out there to find used setups that need may need some TLC or a rebuild. Short of repowering alltogetherits the next best option.

dougcfields

Cadet