Merc 1150 '76 model stator leads crumbling away suspect dead short

Hi all, newbie here. Bought a runabout recently with a 115 inline Merc. The tacho is not working, I have tried hooking it up but nothing works. I also suspect its not charging. Motor runs fine apart from these issues. The stator leads (2 wire) coming from under the flywheel are absolutely decayed and are probably touching somewhere, would this cause the problems I have mentioned? Is it a shop job to get the flywheel off to get to the stator? Cause I'm pretty handy electrically and reckon I could fix it if I could get to it.
Any help would be great :)

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Re: Merc 1150 '76 model stator leads crumbling away suspect dead short

Shorted stator windings can cause no charge and no tach reading. Stator is easy to remove. Remove the 8 5/16" bolts that ring the flywheel nut. Now the outer flywheel will come off and you will see the stator. It has 4 allen screws holding it. Put some shrink tube over the wires, and maybe you can save it.

When you go to reinstall the outer flywheel, set the motor to TDC and install the flywheel so the timing pointer shows TDC. Use some blue locktight on the flywheel bolts.

Quad82

Seaman Apprentice

If I remember right, last summer my tach was not working and the charging voltage was way high. It was a bad rectifier. Easy enough to check and replace before pulling the flywheel.

My motor is a 78 Merc 115.

Thanks guys, great help, I'll be onto that tonight and let you know how it goes.