Making my Crestliner Dry

gofishjim

Recruit
I have a question for any creative Crestliner Owner who may have come up with a fix for the wet ride on all Crestliners. I have my first one after owning at least 8 other brands over the years. I have 50 years experience on Lake Erie with driving in 6 plus foot waves and my customers are getting soaked no matter what I do or how I drive. I am considering adding, welding a chine or rib if you will, to the side of the boat just above the water line to deflect the spray...has anyone ever done that or heard of anyone else doing it?

Best Fishes

Jim

heyyou325

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Making my Crestliner Dry

My 61 16 ft Aluminum Crestliner came with a splash guard.100_0761.JPG100_3827.JPG100_3826.JPG. They are just riveted on, and the wave hits it and splashes away from the boat. You can see it just above the water line in these 3 pics. Good luck adding one to yours.

mrmamiller

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Hope I don't have 2 posts on the same thing, PC is screwing up. My boat is a Nordic 18, 1986 variety. I think this vintage is prone to water running up the sides and getting you wet. My boat is small, but others in this era that I have seen exhibit the same sort of splash. I saw a boat similar to mine which had been modified with a splash rail to deflect the water downward, but it was a bit "rinky-dink". I thought of having a professional do something, but thought better about it. Maybe a new boat is the answer. I fish walleye out of Erie, PA and it can be real wet, even in 2 footers. I just snap in all windows and canvas. I guess your boat is much larger. Good luck.

heyyou325

Chief Petty Officer