oil is chocolate milk - H20 mixture

elltee

Cadet
I have a 1988 Ski Nautique with a 351 Ford. Engine has 700 hours and has been serviced regularly. Put boat in H20 today and after starting, the oil pressure gauge was bouncing erratically from one end to the other. Fearing a major problem, I shut the motor off after about five minutes (did not over heat-temp normal). Pulled the oil dipstick to find chocolate milk instead of the new oil that was changed at the end of last summer. No need to winterize for the temp does not get below 32 degrees. The boat has been used twice this year for a total of about three hours. Everything ran fine. What is going on? Suspect the manifolds need to be replaced, but I'm not a mechanic and not very knowledgable about the engine. Why did the oil pressure gauge go ballistic? Can H2O get into the block by other means? Have I damaged the motor in any way? What is my next step?

sculbert

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: oil is chocolate milk - H20 mixture

welcome to the family, seems we have something in common. I also have water in my oil. I have been reading the forum and it looks like your engine can get water in the oil from the manifold. I was kind of supprised to learn that. I hope someone can help you out also. from what I have seen if your engine has the years on the manifold like mine does. It is most likely the problem for it also. I have pulled mine off and found water laying in the exhaust side of the manifold.

merc200

Seaman

It could also be the exhaust risers cracked, or a head cracked. Probably not a block though since elltee is in a non freezing climate.

elltee

Cadet

what is the least expensive and first measure to take?

motox6

Petty Officer 3rd Class