Volvo Penta AQ130D replacement or block swap ?

big_b

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I have a 1977 Volvo Penta AQ130D 4 cyl motor on my deck boat. I have put alot of money in the boat getting the inside looking decent..

I fear that I may have sucked enough anti freeze into the block over the winter and the block may be cracked.. I started it up and it seems as though water may be spraying out of the block alothough I have not had a real good chance to find the source of the water.

I have been wanting to rebuild it or replace it because of low compression...

I have found a block failry cheap... What would I need besides new seals and piston rings to do the swap? I have never rebuilt a motor but am confident I can .. I was a machinist for years and can follow digrams and instructions...

Honestly I woudl rather just bolt up a replacement if I can afford it.. but is there that much to rebuilding one of these ? Any chance a bigger motor would bolt right up in place ? It is a tad under powered for my 19 foot deck boat !

Thanks!

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Volvo Penta AQ130D replacement or block swap ?

Honestly I woudl rather just bolt up a replacement if I can afford it.. but is there that much to rebuilding one of these ? Any chance a bigger motor would bolt right up in place ?

Ayuh,... There's ALOT more to rebuilding a motor than Just new seals, 'n rings...
The motor needs to go to a Machine Shop for cleaning, 'n machining,...
Once the block is brought back to Spec, it's reassembled with new pistons, 'n such to match the new specs...

Nope,... No bigger motors will work, without also changing out the outdrive, as well as the motor...

big_b

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Ayuh,... There's ALOT more to rebuilding a motor than Just new seals, 'n rings...
The motor needs to go to a Machine Shop for cleaning, 'n machining,...
Once the block is brought back to Spec, it's reassembled with new pistons, 'n such to match the new specs...