Battery question

mphy98

Lieutenant
So is there really any difference between a car starting battery and a marine starting battery? I want to add an additional battery to my boat and one will be an optima car battery that I bought for a vehicle last year and never installed it, so is there any difference? Also I have heard that I might not want to use an optima on a 1986 mercury black max 135hp. Any help here?

Cadwelder

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Battery question

I was told by a battery dealer once that marine batteries are built heavier inside to withstand the constant jarring of a boat ride. The jarring and bouncing around doesn't happen in cars.

jasoutside

Supreme Mariner

Maybe....

In my world I live on a dirt road surrounded by roads with potholes. Pretty much any boat ride I take will likely be more comfortable for my marine battery than my auto battery.

RandyJ

Master Chief Petty Officer

I'm no battery expert but one huge difference I've seen is the price and the warranty. You might get one or two year warranty on a marine battery... but for a car you can get a prorated 8 year warranty for the same or cheaper price.

jasoutside

Supreme Mariner

Yah, seems like once the word "Marine" is attached you get the marine tax too. Buy it at a marine store (West Marine) and you get the double tax!

So, I am like mphy too...

Anybody out there know the difference?

tin

Seaman