Chaparral ssi 216 or a Yamaha 242

GTS500

Recruit
Hi guys!

I'm deciding on purchasing a brand new 20'-24' bowrider mainly for recreation, familly outings and some fishing. I am not from the US and I would want something that last and doesn't need much attention to the boat's exterior and especially the engine. I am staying in Singapore and we have summer all year long.

I have heard a lot of good things mentioned on Chaparral boats. I think they make pretty good quality boats but I always have this feeling with the Yamaha 242. They look really pretty and I think Yamaha have good reputation on build quality and they make good engines too. Lastly I would also want a boat that is able to retain it's value.

I know chaparral is using a OB and the yamaha uses a jet drive. I have read on the maneuverability of jet drives engine but to me I think they perform just as good. It doesn't concern me much.

Well, I have a budget of $40-45k for a boat. I am new to boats and hope I am able to get some inputs on what you guys think. I'll be in Miami FL to check them out further. Would like some pointers on what to look for before purchasing a decent boat that I will not regret.

Cheers!

superpop

Master Chief Petty Officer
Re: Chaparral ssi 216 or a Yamaha 242