Towing with Honda Oddy

FlyGuy65

Cadet
Would anyone who has (or is currently) personally towed with a Honda Oddy care to share their personal experience?

Background: I have been using an 05 Oddy/w coolers for about 6 months to tow a 17 ft bowrider. There are some great aspects to it (seating and cargo volume, it's paid for), and some terrible aspects. It will take a couple thousand to bring this setup up to acceptable standards (trailer brakes, some unrelated maintenance issues, etc). So the choices are to spend 2 or 3K and keep the Oddy, or just buy something else. (Tundra or Taco at this point, and I'm guessing trailer brakes would be a waste of money if the towing with a Tundra.)

I have already read numerous threads on towing, and really, I respect everyone else's more experienced opinion: however, I am soliciting advice from folks who have actually used a similar van/boat combo - not just heard from a friend or seen at the dock.

Thanks!

wcsellers

Cadet
Re: Towing with Honda Oddy

Not the best idea. I was a Honda Technician from 2001 til 2009 when I opened my own shop.
I love the Odyssey but heat kills the transmissions. Towing creates heat. Not saying it cant be done , but I would definatly install the biggest trans cooler you can find and change fluid EVERY 30k miles. If not plan on an early rebuild as they have problems without towing. When the body style was changed in 2005 trans was improved but still not heavy duty. 99 to 03 you will need a trans early due to towing.............
sorry to spread the bad news