Unknown mystery hole on BF8A carburetor?

Paladin27

Cadet
Guys, can anyone tell me what the hole is on the top of the carb for my 1997 BF8A Honda? I recently bought this engine and it was "non-working". I have gotten it to run, but after taking apart the carb and servicing it, I cannot for the life of me deduce what this hole is for and can find no hoses or threads to indicate what would attach or go inside. The engine runs, but gas spits out from this hole! I'm new to marine engines, please help!

5434604551_03608784b3_z.jpg

dtj

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: Unknown mystery hole on BF8A carburetor?

Guys, can anyone tell me what the hole is on the top of the carb for my 1997 BF8A Honda? I recently bought this engine and it was "non-working". I have gotten it to run, but after taking apart the carb and servicing it, I cannot for the life of me deduce what this hole is for and can find no hoses or threads to indicate what would attach or go inside. The engine runs, but gas spits out from this hole! I'm new to marine engines, please help!

5434604551_03608784b3_z.jpg

My guess is that it is a fuel bowl vent hole and if gas is spitting out the hole than you would need to check the float valve for proper closing. Hopefully someone with more specific knowledge can confirm this..................Don

Paladin27

Cadet

Don, after some further investigation, I think you are exactly correct. The float appears to have full travel, but something may be clogging the float valve. It looks clean visually, but am going to investigate further. Thanks for the incite and prompt reply!

My guess is that it is a fuel bowl vent hole and if gas is spitting out the hole than you would need to check the float valve for proper closing. Hopefully someone with more specific knowledge can confirm this..................Don

isaksp00

Petty Officer 1st Class