Did I ruin my outdrive water pump?

twblanset

Recruit
This is my first post and I'd like to pre-thank everyone for their advice, and beg their forgiveness for any stupid questions. I'm new to boats.

My friend and I recently bought a 19' Conroy, with a 3.0 liter Mercruiser and an Alpha outdrive. It died the first time we took it out and I've been doing some work to get it going. In the course of working on it, I ran it for about 5-10 seconds without the water running through the earmuffs. Did I ruin the water pump in the outdrive?

I ran it for about 2 minutes since then and it wasn't overheating but I had the earmuffs and a hose connected. So I figured it might be the hose pressure pushing water up into the engine. This had me thinking. Can I put a trash can under the outdrive full of water and lower the outdrive into it and run it that way? Also, is it a good idea to rebuild the water pump in the outdrive just as a matter of routine? I looked up a rebuild kit and it looks like they run about $30, so they don't cost a lot. Is it difficult? I looked up the process in the Seloc manual I bought, and it doesn't look all that difficult.

So I guess I have a few questions:
Did I ruin the water pump in the outdrive?
Can I run the boat with the outdrive in a trashcan full of water?
Should I just rebuild the water pump regardless?

farmer9009

Seaman
Re: Did I ruin my outdrive water pump?

Since you dont know the last time the impeller was changed it needs to be changed. This is regular maintenance for a new used boat.
Don't run it in the trashcan just change the impeller and enjoy piece of mind knowing it is done right. Plus you will get to see if the old one is damaged which I would bet it is.

Last edited:

twblanset

Recruit

Thanks for the service bulletin and it looks like I'll be rebuilding the water pump.

I checked my Seloc manual and it didn't look that difficult.