HELP!! 1981 70 hp Johnson outboard erratic ignition timing

cgast123

Cadet
I have a 1981 johnson 70 hp outboard that hasn't ran exactly right since i got it last summer. So being its cold i decided to do a little tune up. started with a compression test, cyl. 1 is 160psi cyl. 2 is 150psi cyl. 3 is about 160psi as well(being a auto/desiel mechanic I know this is very good). I noticed my carbs weren't exactly opening and shutting all the same so I synced them and got them all opening and closeing in sync. The engine has had the wierdest idle sometimes its high sometimes its low but most the time its high(I found a leaking fuel line since replaced that it hasn't idled low just high all the time) So according to my manual the base idle is adjusted by timing. So I hooked my timing light the the top cyl.(assuming that is #1) and my timing marks are about 90 degrees out and every once and a while it will jump 180 degrees from that spot and then back but primarily stays in the first spot. I can push the lever that adjusts the timing back as far as it goes and it still isn't even close. I think if I can get the timing were it needs to be it will idle right, but im at a loss as to how to get the timing moved back to where it needs to be.

Is there a way to adjust the idle timing back to were it needs to be when it is that far out? It seems that the engine might have been rebuilt before I got it but not to terribly long ago. The previous owner said that they cleaned the carbs and put them back on and that was it but Im not so sure thats all they did.

Another question I have is does this engine have a electronic timing advance for cold start and if it does how do you disable it. My manual doesn't say anything about it but wanted to be sure I don't get kicked in the foot by something simple.

SeaKaye12

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: HELP!! 1981 70 hp Johnson outboard erratic ignition timing

Interesting question; deserves a ^BUMP^

ONERCBOATER

Chief Petty Officer