Just bought Volvo Penta AQ130/270 Outdrive on a Ranger Riverboat 17ft

rocky01

Cadet
Hey thanks in advance for all replies/help.
Not new to forum.New to this type of boat.
Got an ok deal I know boat needs work not total junk

Question:
How do I know if water is coming thru intake on lower unit?
Engine runs but when in idle it dies, adjustment or new kit?

Observing water strainer and water has trouble coming thru into from
intake, checked impeller by water pump and is good.
Any ideas?
Forgive my ignorance i'm a novice to anything mechanical.

Thanks,
Steve in Vegas!

PiratePast40

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Just bought Volvo Penta AQ130/270 Outdrive on a Ranger Riverboat 17ft

Steve,
First thing is to get hold of a manual. Seloc will be a good start but someone will be along soon with a link to the OEM manual.

To get water up to the engine, it needs to come from the bottom of the outdrive. You can use a large tub or muffs. If using muffs, you'll need to block the lower hole in the outdrive or it'll just run out there. If you can't get water to the engine that way, then you'll have to start troubleshooting. You'll know if you have water through the engine because it'll be coming out the exhaust with the engine running.

Remember that the water has to come all the way from the bottom of the outdrive to get to the pump suction on the engine. Any leaks in the path will allow air to be sucked in and you won't get water to the pump.

Common leakage points include:
1) Muffs not hooked up properly or weep hole not plugged
2) Water fitting on intermediate housing corroded
3) Hose on water fitting cut
4) Strainer leaking

Once you get a manual and start exploring how the engine and outdrive systems work, you'll be able to ask more specific questions and people will be able to give you better help.