Mercury 150 hp inline 6 - How to get into neutral without the mercontroller

bga4

Cadet
Hey guys, whats the easiest way to get it into neutral without the controller (which i do have but its in pieces), i guess i just have to keep moving the shift lever until the prop spins freely both directions?? (without making a clicking noise either)

Might be a stupid question but of the two cables (bare with me as im new to boat mechanics), which one is the shift lever - top or bottom that comes directly off the motor?

Thanks in advance for any advise offered :)

backyard mechanic

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Mercury 150 hp inline 6 - How to get into neutral without the mercontroller

Hey guys, whats the easiest way to get it into neutral without the controller (which i do have but its in pieces), i guess i just have to keep moving the shift lever until the prop spins freely both directions?? (without making a clicking noise either)

Might be a stupid question but of the two cables (bare with me as im new to boat mechanics), which one is the shift lever - top or bottom that comes directly off the motor?

Might be a stupid question? No... the only stupid one is that which is not asked.
The easiest way to get your engine into neutral is by removing the cowl and removing the shift cable. Pretty easy to do and reattach when needed too.
If you are doing so to remove the lower end, leave it in forward. If it's just to start it or whatever else, that's your best shot.

Buy yourself a manual and the money spent will be recovered many times over.

bga4

Cadet

Might be a stupid question? No... the only stupid one is that which is not asked.
The easiest way to get your engine into neutral is by removing the cowl and removing the shift cable. Pretty easy to do and reattach when needed too.
If you are doing so to remove the lower end, leave it in forward. If it's just to start it or whatever else, that's your best shot.