So how many years have you been fishing?

keninaz

Chief Petty Officer
Just curious. I know many of us are lifetime fishermen (persons~gotta stay out of trouble here).
I started fishing at the age of 5 or 6. My Mother was the real fisherman in the family but my Dad went along.
I started hitting the saltwater docks in my area alone at age 7. I was there all day long almost every Saturday fishing for stripers.
I graduated to Sturgeon and then got my first boat at around 25 when I was discharged from the Army in '72. I spent many hours and nights on the boat in the delta area between SF and Sacramento. I also did quite a bit of fishing in the San Pablo and San Francisco bays and offshore for salmon when I got a bigger boat later
Now almost 65 I am land locked. I am down to a 12' tin boat which will be powered shortly by a trolling motor which is all most the local lakes allow here.
I miss the salt water fish over the trout and bass that are in my local lakes but I just cannot afford to live anywhere with salt water and good weather in retirement so upper elevations of AZ have to work for me.
Anyway, I am coming up on age 65 so I have been fishing about 60 years now. I don't even want to think about all the boats, tackle and expenses I have spent over the years on fishing.
And I would not change a thing!:D

1fishbone

Chief Petty Officer
Re: So how many years have you been fishing?

Right behind you...been fishing saltwater for around 50 years...(I'm 55) couldn't live without it!

Being Portuguese.... it's in the genes!!

keninaz

Chief Petty Officer

Yes, I have known and worked with a lot of Portuguese over the years that loved to fish also.
Most were very dedicated at it too.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Been fishing fresh for about 70 years, salt, on and off, about 30 years.

scipper77

Commander