Replacing rings in Johnson 70

VaGent

Petty Officer 1st Class
I am told the rings need to be replaced in my 1987 Johnson 70 because it will not idle below 1200 rpm in gear. I was told its because of the rings & as I am not an outboard mechanic I really don't know. What I would like to know is what is a "reasonable & fair" price to have this done? I was quoted $1200.00 turn key job but have also been told that is "priced high". Does anyone have any knowledge about what is fair or high on doing a job like this?

I've already had the carbs rebuilt, complete engine tune-up, water pump & lower seals replaced & the engine runs very good above 1200 & doesn't skip a beat. I run it on my pontoon boat that is 24 ft weighing approx. 2300 lbs loaded & with GPS it says I am getting 17 mph @ 3800 rpm. It just won't idle like it is supposed to which I am told is around 900-1000 rpm. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks

Faztbullet

Supreme Mariner
Re: Replacing rings in Johnson 70

It possible it needs more than rings due to this is the bridged exhaust block and are known to scuff pistons if lugged. Price is a little high for a re-ring and a couple hundred shy of a overhaul. How did they tell you they found problem? Was a leak down test performed? Was compression test OK as skirt and sidewall scuffing will not show up sometimes in a compression test.

VaGent

Petty Officer 1st Class

It possible it needs more than rings due to this is the bridged exhaust block and are known to scuff pistons if lugged. Price is a little high for a re-ring and a couple hundred shy of a overhaul. How did they tell you they found problem? Was a leak down test performed? Was compression test OK as skirt and sidewall scuffing will not show up sometimes in a compression test.