57 Lone Star rebuild thoughts and advice welcomed w/pics!!

chrisroberts916

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I finally got my boat in the garage this past Sunday. I did some cleaning. I'll add some photo's and a link to my photo album. I plan on uploading every picture I take and I plan on taking a lot, but all work is being done by myself, yes even split and flip deck. Please share your thoughts along the way and kick in the butt if I'm needing it.

It's because of the great people of the forums that I have the courage to attempt this. I am a mechanic by trade and raised in a family own graphics business. I've restored couple VW's and paint a few boats but I never split one.

12-09-10_1548.jpg

12-09-10_1808.jpg

12-09-10_1829.jpg

12-09-10_2126.jpg

12-09-10_2233.jpg

12-09-10_2245.jpg

chrisroberts916

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: 57 Lone Star rebuild thoughts and advice welcomed w/pics!!

104_1140.jpg

12-09-10_2255.jpg

104_1151.jpg

Here's a link to my photo album. Please have a look.
PhotoBucket

Now for the questions
The support boards under the front deck is separating from the boa, see following pics
100_0006.jpg

100_0005.jpg

100_0007.jpg

chrisroberts916

Petty Officer 3rd Class

100_0046.jpg

100_0039.jpg

100_0047.jpg

100_0049.jpg

The original transom was only about an inch thick I will be replacing it with 1 1/4 + glass so I had to cut back the sides to make room. I'm thinking about making battery boxes to fit in the sides?
100_0003.jpg

100_0022.jpg

Don't forget you can see all the pictures at
PhotoBucket

twkjr 1250

Petty Officer 2nd Class

that is one sweet looking lonestar . never knew they made fiberglass boats . i had a 68 20' cuddy aluminum one years ago my first boat good luck with your rebuid i'll be watching this one close

You've done this before.... haven't you. ;)

chrisroberts916

Petty Officer 3rd Class