1993 70HP Force outboard

boating9976

Recruit
I have just purchased a 1993 Stingray 501ZP with a 70 HP Force outboard. This past weekend I had a chance to go out to the lake and try to run the boat but ran into a problem when I had the motor at full throttle. The engine seemed to cut out on me when the RPM meter reached > 4000.

I am new to boating and to 2 cycle outboard motors so I don't even have a clue where to start looking. I am pretty good with car engines but this is all new.

When I ran the boat in my driveway at full throttle the engine did not miss a beat. The engine starts up quite nicely and has no problem when < 4000 RPM on the water and sometimes the engine would run find > 4000 for about 45 seconds then start to cut out / stall. The engine fires right back up with no problem.

I am looking for someone to give me a check list of what to check. I plan on replacing the plugs and plug wires but don't know what else to look at.

Thanks in advance
Mark

roscoe

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1993 70HP Force outboard

Welcome to iboats.

I would pass on the plug wires.
If you do replace them, make sure they are solid wire core, for that ignition system.

Get yourself a Clymer Force Repair manual - read it.

I'm betting it is a fuel starving issue.

Possible solutions:
Rebuild fuel pump $15
Clean carb and reset float height.
Replace fuel line and primer bulb.
Check for cracks in fuel lines going to the carb. They usually won't leak as this is a low pressure system, but they could suck air in.

other things to do:
replace thermostat
replace water pump impeller
replace gearlube

boating9976

Recruit

Thanks for the quick response.

I will be purchasing the Clymer Force Repair manual today and read it first chance I get over the winter months. I figure I have some time to read up on this engine before trying to solve the problem. I know that the fuel lines are new but have a question about the bulb on the fuel tank.