Starcraft question (s)

float2

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I'm new to Starcrafts and not familiar with them. One popped up for sale near me and all they have in the ad is that its a 16 foot fish and ski with no motor with interior redone several years ago. Is there anything I need to look for besides the usual on boats in general ie: floor, transom, etc? What is the biggest engine I can put on it and are there other Starcraft windshields I could bolt in place of the existing one? (I'd prefer a more rakish look). Here is a pic of one just like it:

3nb3m63o35V15T25U2ac420c4ba0d9946158b.jpg

dozerII

Admiral
Re: Starcraft question (s)

First off Welcome to the site, you will find lots of great people and a wealth of info. It is hard to tell from the pic, but it looks like an SS. Is it an open bow? If it is then it is an SS. Do you know the year? I had a 1984 16 SS and the coast gaurd plate said the max hp was 90, I put an Johnson V4 90 on it and it was a great boat. I would check to make sure the P/O did not use asnd pressure treated ply wood in the interior rebuild, as that is a real no no on aluminum boats. Let us know how you make out. Where are you located?
Glen

Bifflefan

Commander

I'd guess its around the 70's era.
90 or 100 will be close to the max.
Definatly agree with the no treated plywood.
For that era, thats the windshield you get. You can retro fit a different one if you like. Being an open bow tho, you are limited.
I guess it all depends on what they want for it, vs the shape its in right now.
A bad resto some years ago is still a bad resto.

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

That looks like a nice 16' SS. The consoles and gunnels are relatively flat so you could retrofit just about any windshield you'd find. I did a swap on my 16 closed bow that worked out awesome. As mentioned, probably 90HP max. I had an 85 on mine. I think anything 50HP-90 would work well.

Pugetsound

Lieutenant Commander