150 Faststrike Johnson

cub48

Seaman
I have a 1998 150 Faststrike It is the best starting engine i have ever owned. Push the key in and spin it over and 2 times it starts. It idles a little rough but does not die. It smells it is running a little rich. Smokes when you start and at idle not excessive. But at 1200 rpm it runs real rough.Say you are moving from one spot to another and just fast idle to get there. It jerks and feels like it is missing.It will run down river 35mph and faster smooth as silk. I have put seafoam and stablizer in run gas without elthol. used 92 oct. Changed plugs this spring. Supposed to have had the carbs sink and adjusted I think all they did was idled it up. Checked compression when i bough it was 110 on all cylinders. I am an auto tech and a miss tuned engine bugs me. I am not up on 2 strokes yet and I have already spent money and have the same problem. Thanks Cub48

dish

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 150 Faststrike Johnson

Have you checked to see if your cam follower roller is still intact.If thats missing it can put the timing out.

jonesg

Admiral

Run it til it is rough, whatever rpm that is, then hit the choke (push the ignition key in) if it picks up the carbs are clogged.
If it bogs down its not the carbs.
Sounds like carbs, maybe intermediate jets.
If you do them, run wire thru the jets and orifices in the throat.

reeldutch

Lieutenant

i bet you it is not comming out of quickstart.
does it clunk when you shift it?
what rpm does it idle at in gear?

boobie

Supreme Mariner

Start it up and disconnect the white/black temp sensor wire on the port side. Then ground it out to the block. If your idle changes it was stuck in QS. This can be caused by mtr temp, bad temp sensor or power pack.

cub48

Seaman

It Idles at around 800 rpm it apears to be running rich. Does these carbs have adj air screws Thanks Cub48

8up

Petty Officer 3rd Class