Cracked Engine Block Question?

1fishbone

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Cracked Engine Block Question?

WOW...never heard of an engine crack with no indication.

From what I read, you used it, serviced it and now it's cracked?
If you had a cracked block you would know it!

It takes a REAL hard freeze to crack a block.
There are freeze plugs, hoses could slip or crack first.

I suspect a 'snow job'.

How much do you trust this mechanic?

Bondo

Staff member

Ayuh,... Welcome Aboard,...

#1,... It'll probably last for Years,...
As long as you've run it, it ain't dropped water into the oil, Right,..??
It's an external, Not internal crack.... Butter it up with epoxy, 'n Enjoy the boat...

#2,... Ya can't rebuild it, it's a Cracked Block... Run 'er til she Pukes,...
Then replace it with a Long Block....

#3,... Fresh motors can be found for about $1500., 'n Up....

buzzm19

Petty Officer 2nd Class

If I were you as stated get a couple opinions, I am an mechanic and if the block is cracked on both sides you would have to see water in the hull especially when its running. I would guess that your freeze plugs or maybe a head gasket and a crack in the block highly unlikely and then again both sides? Just my opinion Buz

redjmp

Chief Petty Officer

Just because it is cracked doesn't mean its all bad. Like Bondo said, the cracks are external and the motor ran great! It would not necessarily leak if they were just hairline cracks that got filled in with rust.

If this is a raw water block, the cooling system is under very low pressure and would not leak much if at all.

Get a wire wheel and clean the area around the cracks well and then use some JB Weld to seal it up well and be done with it.

I had a friend back in high school who had a 427 in a Vega that he used to take down to SIR and race when he blew a rod out the side of the block at 160 mph. Resleeved that hole and patched it with JB Weld and it ran fine for years more.