1st post, total newb needs your thoughts!

Glowplug007

Seaman
Hello all, I have been lurking in the shadows for awhile now, I believe you have the best boating forum on the net and I humbly seek your knowledge and expertise!

So I have alot to put in here, sorry because it will probably be long. I have a somewhat unique situation so i thought for you to best assist me, you might need to know where im coming from and why it has lead me to where im at.

2 years ago my wife and I (abt30yrs old) took a ride on my deceased brothers boat. From that moment we knew we would own one and the time has finally come for us to take the plunge. We have had boat fever for 2 years after being on one, she wants to do this as much as i do. We realize its a lifestyle choice and more involved then most hobbies.

We have no kids and arent planning any. We only have a handfull of friends we would actually hang out with, so in all likelihood there would only ever be 4 people total on the boat. We plan on using the boat on cave run lake in KY, its an 8000 acre lake about an hour away.

I travel with my job and most weeks I fly out Mon and fly back Fri, so I really only have time for anything related to boating on the weekends. Also I dont have any "boat" people as friends. We know one couple that has a nice boat but we arent close to them or anything.

Now that you know all that, heres the nitty gritty. If my logic is seriously flawed in some way, if im not taking something into account, or if you have a better set of executable plans in mind feel free to let me know. Its why im writing this! :

My wife and I are 97% ready to pull the trigger on a brand new 2010 Bayliner 175. Heres why, again if any of this is stupid tell me!