9.9 HP Johnson Powerhead Questions - Advice Needed!

jbsails

Cadet
Hello All, and Happy Thanksgiving...
I am the new to me owner of a 1998 9.9 Johnson Extra Long Shaft motor with electric start. I bought it on Ebay sight unseen for my 25' sailboat. I do not normally do that, but was desperate for an XLS and could not find one in So Cal where I reside. Long story short, it was not quite what the previous owner described, although he has really been ethical and we worked out a reasonable refund deal and I am pleased with his honesty.

Now, that said, I had my mechanic go through the motor which had had some serious overheating. After replacement of the thermostat which was cratered to bits, plugs, fluids and the valve cover gasket, he got it to 105#'s compression in both cylinders from where it was at 70 #'s. He said however, that after it is warm and he turns it off...he has had to choke it to get it to restart.

Now, I am no mechanic and this is my first Johnson outboard. The shaft is perfect for my boat, but I want a really reliable motor that I can count on. How do you guys feel about that compression and the re-start issue? I am not averse to a rebuild...but don't know if that is the way to go or to acquire a new powerhead altogether? Does anyone know the average cost of a powerhead for a 9.9?

Any advice as to what you would do if you were in my shoes would be greatly appreciated...either before or after Turkey and football today!

oldcatamount

Lieutenant Commander
Re: 9.9 HP Johnson Powerhead Questions - Advice Needed!

Did your mechanic do a tune up as well as the T-stat? The compression is Ok at 105however, I would think it should be a little higher,(maybe 120 or so) but, as long as it's close to being equal like you have, I wouldn't worry about it. Having to choke the motor to re-start is quite normal but, a carb cleaning and some new plugs would most likely take care of that. In my opinion, a re-build isn't neccessary.

ONERCBOATER

Chief Petty Officer