Hitting the ocean in Vancouver BC

Beezerchris

Seaman Apprentice
I'm fairly new to the west coast of Canada and the wide open seas. This January I'm going to be taking a Power Squadron class to upgrade my skills and get my radio license. Best to learn about tides and stuff now me thinks.

Anyway - for those of you with more time under your belts out on the big chuck - what do you think of taking a 16 foot Super Sport out into the big water? My area is sheltered by Vancouver Island and I can head off a lot of places (Indian Arm, Desolation Sound, along the Georgia Straight) and stay closer to shore.

With an eye on the weather and using common sense is this even a sane idea? I see boats that size out there but that doesn't mean it's not crazy.

I know I'm going to venture up the Fraser and find myself at the mouth soon enough. Maybe I'll be limited more by my three five gallon tanks and finding places to refuel!

Any advice?

el toro

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: Hitting the ocean in Vancouver BC

I've done plenty of boating in my 17 footer on The Strait but it has a lot higher freeboard than the SS. I also got an SS this year but have yet to take it out on the ocean. Still there's no reason why you can't head out on a nice calm day. The thing you NEED to know is what is the wind doing. I always check the marine forecast for what the wind is doing in the morning as well as what it will do by the afternoon. Anything over about 10-15 knots and you can count on some chop which would probably be uncomfortable in the Starcraft. And you also have to be aware of the occasional huge wake from a ferry, tug or tanker but you should be able to negotiate it. The power squadron course is a good idea, it will cover all this stuff.

GLG fishing

Chief Petty Officer

X2 on what el toro said. Pick your days. Go with a buddy boat to learn the ropes. I use this website to get wind perditions. It?s the best out here.
http://www.bigwavedave.ca/forecasts.php