75 hp Evinrude Starflite

edwardspn

Recruit
Just found buried in the back of a shed a 75 hp Evinrude Starflite Model: 50528 and Serial 58878 and would like to know more about it, i.e. year, weight, general specs if available.

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: 75 hp Evinrude Starflite

It is a 1962, Mechanical Shift. I'm not sure if it has the Unicharger or not, but if it does, the junction box and wiring harness is worth nearly as much as the rest of the motor. I hope you have it.

yorab

Ensign

I will soon finish rebuilding a 1963 75hp Starflite (hopefully-I've been saying that for 2 years now) and my parts motor is a 1962 75hp Starflite mechanical shift. I will have plenty of spare parts if you need any. I'll probably post on ebay or sell directly to those interested in hard-to-find parts. Let me know if you need anything along the way for your motor.

pongopocahontas

Recruit

I picked up one of these engines a few years ago in an estate sale. Just found out recently that it was a 1962. Are these valuable?

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner

1962 75hp Evinrude/Johnson...... Weight, approx 247 lbs.

Average speed, mounted on a 17' fiberglass boat:
Approx 37 mph.

Gas usage when set up properly:
At full throttle, 6 gal in 45 minutes (37 mph approx)
At crusing range, 6 gal in 1.5 hours (30 mph approx)

Crusing range is full throttle applied, then drop back to approx 3/4 throttle. This results in having the spark advance still at the full setting BUT drops the throttle butterfly setting to approx its 3/4 setting.