Bying a used motor?

lockedandloaded

Seaman Apprentice
I'm looking at buying a used motor a 1998 50hp with TnT. Besides seeing it run and checking the compression, what else should I check. They want $950.00 for the motor, controls, oil tank, 18gal fuel tank, and two new batterys. Is this a fair price if it runs good? Yes I'm new at this. Thanks

'83Crestliner

Seaman Apprentice
Re: Bying a used motor?

Dosen't sound like that bad of a deal to me. So, you have seen it run? Was it on the water on a boat or on a stand it in tank or muffs? Is it a vro?

lockedandloaded

Seaman Apprentice

I haven't seen it run yet, going to look at it in the morning. It is VRO. It will be running in a test tank (garbage can). Any advice?

1946Zephyr

Vice Admiral

See about getting a compression test and check the oil in the lower unit.:cool:

lockedandloaded

Seaman Apprentice

other then checking for water and metal in the oil is there anything else to look for? I have heard mix reviews on the Johnson VRO system is it something to avoid?

'83Crestliner

Seaman Apprentice

There is nothing really wrong with the vro system. Many people convert over to mixing the oil/gas themselves and disable the vro. My 84 rude has the vro part removed completely. I have heard people having problems with the system. People get tired of hearing the alarm go off or figure it is just more crap to worry about. As mine was already removed when i purchased it i cannot speak to personal exp.

Take Zephr's advice.

G DANE

Commander