Water in oil - leaking manifolds?

woody619

Petty Officer 2nd Class
It's a Chevy 350 w/ Pre Alpha out drive.

The engine starts and runs. We found out it has has water in the oil.

I'm waiting on a trim pump to come in (so we can lower it and start it without messing anything up), before we start working on the engine.

I'm really a newbie to all this, but i just want to confirm if what I think is true to see how I go about working on the engine.

But can these manifolds, which you guys said are shot. Be a possibility of why there's water in the oil? We plan on doing leak down tests. But I just want to make sure we're working on it the best way (planning).

I plan on:
  1. Fixing Trim
  2. Leak Down
  3. Manifolds
  4. Maybe Head Gaskets, if need be

Does that sound like a good plan?

I know the odds are, that I have a cracked block... but wanna confirm first...

Also, if I had to change out the heaadgaskets, would we have to pull the engine out of the boat? Could we do it while it's still in there?

Thanks for all your help guys...

IMG00316-20101016-0843.jpg

IMG00317-20101016-0844.jpg

IMG00274-20101007-1734Small-1.jpg

HT32BSX115

Supreme Mariner
Re: Water in oil - leaking manifolds?

I know the odds are, that I have a cracked block... but wanna confirm first...
Howdy,

You're wasting your time doing anything BUT a pressure check of the block.

If you wanna confirm that you DON'T have a cracked block, do a pressure check.

You already know you're going to replace the manifolds.

Regards,

Rick

woody619

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Will do that first then... is that the same as a leak down test? i just want to make sure i buy all the tools at the same time. (if it's not a leak down tester, is it oil pressure tester?)

Thanks

Bondo

Staff member

Ayuh,... A Leak-down Test, tests the valve sealin', 'n ring sealin'...

A Block Pressure Test tests the motor's Cooling Jacket's integrity...

Oil Pressure is Just that....

woody619

Petty Officer 2nd Class