confused!!!!!!

warmonga

Cadet
Hey guys I am new to boating and I recently purchased a 1996 wellcraft eclipse boat. It is equiped with a Volvo Pinta 3.0 inboard and volvo pinta sx cobra outboard drives .Well I purchased the boat with a locked up motor and was hoping to purchase a new motor and replace it during the winter. The problem is I dont see any 3.0 Volvo Penta motor on ebay. I see the mercruiser 3.0 and I have asked about 6 ppl if The mercruiser is the same motor . 3 of them say yes and the other 3 say no. I am freeking confused man . Can I used a 3.0 mercruiser motor in place of its Volvo pinta without headaches? Is The mercruiser the same motor as the Volvo pinta? I really will appreciate all the helpI can get with this .
Thanks Reggie

Bondo

Staff member
Re: confused!!!!!!

Is The mercruiser the same motor as the Volvo pinta?

Ayuh,... The basic Long Blocks are the Same...

The Complete motors are Not the same...

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner

Said another way -- anything that bolts onto the engine from the Volvo, will bolt onto a 3.0 engine that came from of a Mercruiser. Neither Volvo nor Mercruiser built the basic engine -- General Motors did that part. And you can go to your local Chevy dealer and order the engine through the Marine catalog -- or the engine you have can very likely be rebuilt unless it has been reduced to a pile of rust. I've seen some pretty nasty looking engines brought back to life.

HT32BSX115

Supreme Mariner

Is The mercruiser the same motor as the Volvo

Howdy,

Essentially, yes. You can get a long block from many places. A couple of years ago, I installed a 3.0L long block from http://www.usengine.us/marine.html

I think they'll ship right to your door. (I think the core charge was $500 or so) If I didn't live in this area though, I might go to another place that is closer so I could save the shipping.

warmonga

Cadet