Boat Foam and Fiber cloth recommendations

I'm working on restoring an old fiberglass paddle boat that measures 10'x5' and have already pulled out all the old boat foam. I'm wondering if I should replace it with the 2# or the 4# and where the cheapest place to get it would be. So far I have found 2# for $72 gallon kit and 4# for $86 gallon kit. Also trying to find a good source of cloth and epoxy resin so that I can patch a few holes in the pontoons as well as add some more strength to them and make a few cosmetic repairs. Do I have to use fiberglass cloth or can I use something else? This is my first fiberglass project but I am pretty handy with things. I'm a knife maker so I have a lot of experience with mixing chemicals like epoxy and also I'm good with my hands. Thanks for any and all help.

Re: Boat Foam and Fiber cloth recommendations

Figured yall might like to see pics of what I'm working on. The boat was free which is why I'm working on it and also cause its a fiberglass paddle boat which you can't find these days.:D The pontoons are really showing their age with all the weak spots and the few holes that have emerged.

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

Attachments

• DSC01913.jpg
    DSC01913.jpg
    150 KB · Views: 0
  • DSC01914.jpg
    DSC01914.jpg
    147 KB · Views: 0
  • DSC01915.jpg
    DSC01915.jpg
    147.3 KB · Views: 0

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner