ANOTHER Ethanol Tale...

trendsetter240

Lieutenant
Well, I have run my motor all season on ethanol free 89 octane gas from my marina. Occasionally on 91 or 93 octane ethanol free gas from the local gas station. Always ran perfect, never failed to start and always ran smooth from idle to WOT.

Today, I went to check my crab traps and found that the marina was now on winter hours and the fuel dock was closed.

So, I took my tanks to the nearest station and all they had was e10 gas regardless of octane rating. I filled up with 87 octane e10 and mixed in the same brand of 2 cycle oil I've been using for two years.

About 3 miles out at WOT the engine starts missing and bogging down. I throttle back into neutral and check the primer bulb. Pump it full and watch the motor idle. Motor idles fine so I thottle back up and keep n going. As soon as I reach 5800RPM (6200 RPM is max with current setup) the motor starts missing again. So I throttle back down to 4500 RPM and the miss goes away.

I position the tank so I can pump the primer bulb and throttle up to WOT again. The engine again starts missing, pumping the bulb has no effect.

So I cruise back in at 4000RPM listening closely to the motor for any abnormal sounds.

What do you think? I'm thinking that the ethanol loosend up some crud and now I need to rebuild the carbs and replace my fuel filter... Luckily the boat is coming out of the slip and back to my yard this weekend.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: ANOTHER Ethanol Tale...