I don't know beans when it comes to boats, and I want to restore one.

wrzesinski

Recruit
I was looking on craigslist for a trailer to help with transporting stuff for my volunteer projects and I found this:

http://lubbock.craigslist.org/boa/2028969329.html

"Glass magic fiberglass 14' hull. 70 horse power Chrysler outboard. Last run in 1998. Includes trailer. Will make a good project boat that you can customize. Needs interior remodel. asking $300.00 or best offer."

I haven't bought it yet but I am very interested in it for the trailer. The guy is going to call me back when he gets home with details on it.

I am completely new to boating and I have ALOT of time on my hands and was wondering what all I should look for in the boat if I wanted to get it in the water. Like the ad says, the boat hasn't been run for over 10 years and probably hasn't been well kept.

I am pretty good with my hands, I learn quick, and have previous experience with fiberglass application.

What should I look for when I go to look at the boat?

How much do you think it would cost to have a running usable boat? [I don't care about aesthetics as long as it is mechanically sound]

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
Re: I don't know beans when it comes to boats, and I want to restore one.

Welcome to iBoats!